IT Governance

About IT Governance

The IT governance process at VCU is about the proper stewardship of IT resources on behalf of University stakeholders to ensure they receive the highest return from their investment in technology.  There are two governance groups who work together to accomplish the goals of IT Governance – the University Academic and Administrative Information Technology Steering Committee (UAAITSC) and the University Information Technology Executive Leadership Team (UITELT).  The UAAITSC members are selected from the University’s investor constituencies – faculty, staff, and students.  The Committee is charged with ensuring that only the highest quality investments in Information Technology are pursued.  Their recommended portfolio of IT investments are given final approval by the University Information Technology Governance Board consisting of President Michael Rao, Meredith Weiss, Vice President for Administration, Karol Gray, Vice President of Finance and Budget, Gail Hackett, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, and Marsha Rappley, Vice President for Health Sciences.  Working together, the UAAITSC and UITELT monitor and direct VCU’s investments in Information Technology to advance the goals of our Quest for Distinction strategic plan and to provide maximum benefits for the University community.